Staff, Board & Panelists

The many faces of the Alexa Rose community

Alexa Rose Board Members

Our board consists of individuals committed to excellence in the creative communities in which they reside. Board members serve on all grant review panels, and strive to support a diverse array of talent across the Treasure Valley.   

Lily Yasuda
Grants Operations Manager/Board Member 

Lily is a writer, educator and filmmaker. She was born and raised in Boise, and earned her Bachelor of Arts in Screenwriting from Chapman University. She was an Alexa Rose grant recipient in 2018, and now serves the foundation as the Grants Operations Manager. She is an alumni of Foothills School, Balance Dance Company and Boise Contemporary Theater’s THEATER LAB program. She now teaches at BCT, helping small(er) humans make art. She has performed with Alley Repertory, Homegrown and Campfire Theater companies, and enjoys flexing her creative muscles both on and off the stage. Her first feature film (LIKE LOVE) was shot in August 2018, and will premiere in 2020. She is, above all else, a writer, and can usually be found typing anxiously in a public space. She currently resides in Garden City.

Kenneth Howell
Founder/Board Member

My late wife, Alexa Rose, brought this electrical engineer to a life and home filled with art and whimsy. Alexa was a puppeteer, a poet, a pianist, a linguist, a humorist, a watercolor artist, and so much else. Her connection to and her desire to support Boise Valley’s Art Community and its individual artists was the inspiration for this Foundation. My own creative work is seemingly a knack for renovating and restoring notable, architectural properties from Boise’s past. What began simply as an endeavor to support my family, has grown to where it supports not only my immediate family, but also aids an extended family of community artists. Alexa’s vision and her
Foundation will hopefully continue for generations to come.

Karen Bubb
Director/Board Member

As Boise’s Cultural Planner, Karen Bubb leads implementation of Boise’s Master Cultural Plan. For 19 years she was Boise’s Public Arts Manager, leading the implementation of the Percent-for-Art policy and the development of a robust public art collection. In 2012 she received the Governor’s Arts Award for Excellence in Arts Administration. She teaches Design Thinking at BSU’s Executive MBA program; is co-founder and board member of Surel’s Place, an artist-in-residence program; and Trustee of Alexa Rose Cultural and Mitchell Foundations. Bubb’s MPA is from BSU, and BFA from University of Oregon. She is also a visual artist, showing at Capitol Contemporary Gallery and participating in BOSCO.

Anne Wescott
Board Member

Anne Wescott moved away from her native Boise at 15 to pursue her dream of becoming a professional ballet dancer. She danced professionally with Pacific Northwest Ballet and Pittsburgh Ballet Theater, including performances at the Kennedy Center. When she retired from dancing she earned a masters degree in Public Administration, began a second career in public policy, and has provided consulting services to local governments throughout the West for over 20 years. To compensate for having chosen ballet over her other love, musical theater, she was grateful to have played the lead in Boise Music Week’s Meet Me In St. Louis and has not ruled out having her own cabaret show if she can find the right costume. Anne has served on the Board of the Boise Contemporary Theater, Balance Dance Company, and Foothills School of Arts & Sciences, as well as on review panels for the City of Boise Arts & History grant program.

Jack Forem
Board Member

Jack Forem is an author, ghost-writer, and educator. Passionate about the unfoldment of full human potential, especially the creative and spiritual dimensions, he studied with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi in India as a young man and was trained as a teacher of Transcendental Meditation (TM). He served as head of the TM organization in New York, taught training courses for TM teachers in Europe, led conferences and seminars on the development of creativity, leadership, and higher states of consciousness, and wrote several books including a best-seller on TM. He is also on the Board of the Kagan Foundation that gives grants to teachers to further their education.

Bob Vestal
Board Member

Robert Vestal has been an Idaho resident since 1977. He is an internist, gerontologist and clinical pharmacologist, and served as professor of medicine and pharmacology, now emeritus, at the University of Washington in Seattle and associate chief of staff for research at the affiliated VA Medical Center in Boise. With his wife, Jyl Hoyt, a retired public radio journalist, Bob established Star Garnet Media to assist organizations and businesses communicate their message using photography and videography. They share an abiding love of the visual and performing arts. Having known Alexa Howell and appreciated her artistic expression for many years, Bob is honored to serve as a member of the Alexa Rose Foundation board of directors.

Jacqueline Crist
Board Member

Jacqueline Crist is Managing Director for the James Castle Collection and Archive (JCCA) in Boise, Idaho. Prior to assuming the position with JCCA, Crist founded the J Crist Gallery in 1995 and until 2011 worked with numerous individual artists throughout the Pacific Northwest. Crist also served at the Idaho Commission on the Arts as Artist Services Director from 1990 to 1995 after returning to Idaho from Los Angeles where she was a curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art from 1981 – 1990. Throughout her career Crist has developed commissions and exhibitions with both regionally and internationally recognized artists such as Richard Serra, Robert Irwin, Andy Warhol, Ann Hamilton, Tony Labat, Amy Westover and Chris Burden.

Thank You to Our Volunteer Jurors

Our grant review process involves a series of comprehensive review committees made up of community volunteers. These individuals demonstrate a high level of creative excellence in their work as artists, teachers, curators, directors and more. Previous grantees are welcome to participate as panelists, as we continue to cultivate the most diverse, qualified group of judges possible. All grants are carefully reviewed and ranked by a panel of discipline-specific professionals; the panel meets in person to discuss and reach consensus decisions for their group of applicants; and then grant recommendations are provided to the Alexa Rose Board of Directors (see above).  

The Alexa Rose Foundation would like to thank the following individuals for serving as panelists over the last five years:

Allison Corona

Amy Lunstrum

Andy Lawless

Arin Arthur

Ashley Carlson

Barbara Wescott

Bill Coffey

Brad Talbutt

Buffie Main

Carole Skinner

Casey Gurr

Catherine Kyle

Catina Crum

Chi E Shenam

Christina Lee

Derek Hurd

Danielle Hurd

Glenn Oakley

Hannah Rodabaugh

Heather Bauer

Holly Hudson

Jay Saenz

Jean Cardeno

Jocelyn Robertson

Karen Kelley

Karl LeClair

Kelley Cooper

Kelli Brown

Kurt Zwolfer

Kyle Morck

Lauren Kistner

Laurie Blakeslee

Lisa Flowers Ross

Lisa Roggenbuck

Lily Lee

Lynn Hofflund

Mac Test

Mark Hofflund

Marney Ellis

Meg Kahnle

Melissa Chambers

Melissa Osgood

Mike Shipman

Michael Cordell

Missy Cory

Noble Hardesty

PennyLea Mackie

Philip Atlakson

Samantha Silva

Sam Paden

Sara McDonald

Shelley Jund

Stephanie Inman

Sue Latta

Susan Madacsi

Susan Bruns Rowe

Tarey Potter

Zach Voss

Featured 2018 Recipients